Take time off to spend with Family!

Well its day three of my new blog and yet its almost midnight, and I have yet to write for today. It has actually been fairly busy. My nieces are in town,  and I had decided to actually spend some time with them today. Our neighbor’s kids were also over so we had two boys and two girls ranging from 10 to 13. It was all about the Wii for these children.
We had decided to play the Dance game. It was entertaining to see the different styles and techniques. How is one more limber than the other? Yet it was all in fun. As they were getting ready to leave for lunch with Grandpa, the Tuesday ritual is Taco Tuesday. I thought I would have time to get to work with the kids gone. I was mistaken. Good ole Mother, decided that it was time that I actually participated in dancing to these pre selected tunes on the game. My goodness, I hadn’t danced in over a year since I stopped going out to clubs and drinking! I can’t do this sober! And yet, why is that as children, we can accomplish anything? So I gave in to peer pressure and proceeded to dance and made a fool of myself. It was a round of five dances with one bonus. My mother one of course! I was dead tired by the end of the fifth dance! If it wasn’t for the bonus, it would have been a tie. Now what’s my point?
As leaders we get so bogged down with always having to be on the run that we forget to take the time to spend with our children. I missed out on my nephew’s life growing up. He just turned 18 and well is now considered a young adult. Where the heck does that time go? In time, I might be able to repair that broken relationship. However, I still have today to work on my relationship with my two nieces. I know we all want to leave a legacy for our family which is why we continue to work so hard. However, it just means we have to prioritize and have better time management. As stated in my first post, keep God first, family second and work third. As long we keep things in that order, then there truly is no need to be breaking our backs trying to beat deadlines. So remember to take some time out to let that inner child out to play and have fun!

Until next time,  I will leave you with this song as this was one of the five dances we did this morning.  If you haven’t played the Wii Dance, check it out.  It’s actually harder than it sounds!

About RichRazMarketing

I am an online marketer who teaches others through servant leadership.

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

